The Piedmont Technical College Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit corporation that provides financial support to the college beyond that which is obtained from traditional funding sources. The Foundation attracts support from alumni and friends, business and industry and grant-making organizations. It also raises money through annual giving plans, gift campaigns, special events and estate planning tools and techniques.

Piedmont Technical College Foundation Scholarships

Many of the students entering Piedmont Technical College are from low to moderate income households. Many are the first to attend college in their families. Some come from challenging circumstances — juggling family, jobs and college responsibilities.

Although more than 90 percent of the students at PTC receive some form of financial aid, for many it’s not enough. The PTC Foundation assists these students through more than 90 scholarship opportunities. These scholarships help to retain the best and brightest talent for our local workforce and provide educational opportunities to those who otherwise may not have been able to attend college.

The PTC Foundation Board would like to thank its generous donors for making these scholarships available, and for making the dreams of many of our students a possibility.

  • A. J. Welch Memorial Scholarship
  • Abbeville First Bank Endowed Scholarship
  • Administrative Office Technology Scholarship
  • Agape Senior OTA Scholarship
  • Alfred and Miriam Adams Endowed Scholarship
  • Allred Leadership Scholarships
  • Annie Lee Swygert Scholarship
  • AT&T Dual Enrollment Scholarship
  • Automotive Technology Scholarship
  • Bailey Foundation Scholarships
  • Brighter Futures Scholarship
  • Building Construction Technology Scholarships
  • Computer Consultants & Merchants, Inc. PTC Golf Classic Scholarship
  • C. Y. Thomason Sr. Memorial Scholarship
  • Capsugel Scholarship
  • Casandra Cae Laster Memorial Scholarship
  • Charles Baumeister Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Countybank Scholarships
  • David Sherer Memorial Scholarship
  • Derrick Scholars
  • Dr. Sandra Calliham McMullen Scholarship
  • Duke Energy Workforce Development Scholarship
  • Early Childhood Scholarship
  • Eaton Corporation Funds
  • Ernest W. Prewett Alumni Association Scholarships
  • First Citizens Scholarship
  • Frank Wardlaw Memorial Scholarship
  • Fujifilm Manufacturing U.S.A., Inc. Scholarship                                              
  • Game Changer Scholarship
  • GB Elledge Welding Endowed Scholarship
  • Greenwood Chamber of Commerce Scholarship
  • Greenwood Council of Garden
    Club Scholarship
  • Greenwood Rotary Club Scholarship
  • Greenwood VR Advisory Board Scholarship
  • Gwen and Gene Hancock Memorial Respiratory Care Scholarship
  • H. Kelley Jones Scholarship
  • Healing Hands Scholarship
  • Henry Blohm Leadership Scholarship
  • Honeycutt Endowed Scholarship
  • J. E. S. Services HVAC Scholarship
  • Jane B. Burgdorf Realtor Scholarship
  • Jeanne C. Florence Memorial Scholarship
  • John W. Drummond Endowed Scholarship
  • John Hydel Cardiovascular Scholarship
  • Judy Daulton Accounting Scholarship
  • L. Ruple Harley, Sr. Memorial Scholarship
  • LPGA Symetra Health Classic Scholarship
  • La Puerta de Esperarza Scholarship
  • “Lady Bug” Memorial Scholarship
  • Lakelands Home Builders Association Scholarship
  • Laurens County Chamber Cecil Davenport Memorial Scholarships
  • Laurens County Water and Sewer Commission PTC Golf Classic Scholarships
  • Laurens Rotary Club Scholarship
  • Lena Wood Warren Scholarship
  • Loutrelle Self Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Lucille Brooks Memorial Scholarship
  • Manning Family Endowed Scholarship
  • Medford Family Foundation Scholarship
  • Martha B. Williams Memorial Scholarship
  • MJA Endowed Scholarship
  • Mr. “B” Automotive Technician Scholarship
  • Nancy Taylor Hall Memorial Scholarship
  • Newberry County Memorial Hospital Endowed Scholarship
  • Newberry Electric Cooperative Scholarships
  • Ngoni Mafemera Memorial ScholarshipNora Wells Cooner Scholarship
  • Nora Wells Cooner Memorial Scholarship
  • Norbord South Carolina, Inc. PTC Golf Classic Scholarship
  • Olly and Ross Garrison Memorial Scholarship Endowment
  • Paul DeLoache Memorial Scholarship
  • People That Care Scholarship
  • Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship
  • PTC Foundation Board Scholarships
  • PTC Golf Classic Scholarship
  • Rad Tech Scholarship
  • Scurry Foundation Scholarship
  • Self Regional Healthcare PTC Golf Classic Scholarship
  • Sterilite Corporation Endowed Scholarship
  • Strom Thurmond Scholars
  • SWM International Technical Scholarship
  • Sylvia MacFarlane Veterinary Technology Club Scholarship
  • Taylor Foundation Scholarships
  • The Cone Family Book Assistance Fund
  • The Dunlap Book Assistance Fund
  • The 40 and 8 Nursing Scholarship
  • The Links at Stoney Point PTC Golf Classic Scholarship
  • Veterinary Technician of Excellence Scholarship
  • W. A. Klauber Memorial Scholarship
  • WEASC Legacy of Learning Scholarship
  • Wells Fargo Workforce Readiness Workshop Funds

Foundation Board Members

Mr. Mason Speer, Jr., Abbeville
Mr. Charles R. Williams, Abbeville
Mr. Lee MatthewsAbbeville
Mr. Jeff T. Wilson, Abbeville
Mr. Thomas H. Herlong, Sr., Edgefield      
(Board Treasurer)
Mr. George C. Thornton, Edgefield
Mr. Jimmy Burke, Greenwood
Mr. E.H. “Rocky” Dunkman, Greenwood
Mr. R. Thornwell Dunlap, III, Greenwood
Mr. Donald E. Holton, Greenwood
Mr. Theo L. Lane, Greenwood
Mr. Peter J. Manning, Greenwood
   (Area Commissioner)

Mr. Calhoun A. Mays, Jr.Greenwood  
Mr. Jim MedfordGreenwood
   (Board Chair) 
Mr. Ron MillenderGreenwood
Dr. John A. Morgan, Jr.Greenwood     
Mr. James A. PfeifferGreenwood
Mr. Jerry StevensGreenwood
Mr. Phillip VickeryGreenwood
Mr. Steve O. WhiteGreenwood     
Ms. Diane AndersonLaurens


Mr. Rob AyresLaurens
Mr. Jeff FieldLaurens
   (Board Vice Chair)
Mr. H. George Piersol, IINewberry
   (Area Commissioner)
Mr. Trey TaylorNewberry
Ms. Misty M. WestNewberry
Mrs. Miriam B. AdamsSaluda
Mr. Earl Bradford ForrestSaluda
Mr. William WhitfieldSaluda
   (Area Commissioner)